Q. Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature and history of their own country, rather than the literature and history of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that it is more crucial to teach kids the literature and history of their own country, rather than those of other countries. I strongly agree with this opinion because if children learn about the literature and history of their own country they can have a sense of identity and make the better history in the future. In addition, learning about other countries’s literature and history is difficult for children. To begin with, it is true that it is significant to teach kids the literature and history of their country. This is because children can develop a sense of identity for one’s country. For instance, when I was an elementary school student, I learned about Korean history and literature. They were mandatory subjects. Through these class, I have learned about various kinds of historical stories from how our ancestors protected our country from invaders to what food Korean people enjoyed in the past. It was quite intriguing for me and it would help me to have a sense of identity and patriotism spirit. Moreover, by learning about one’s history and literature young generation can avoid making the same mistakes in the future. It means they can make better the history in the future. If teachers teach children the literature and history of their country, children will know about mistakes that their ancestors made before, and then, in the future, they are not going to make the same mistakes and they can make better future. In addition, learning about other countries’s literature and history is challenging for the kids. It is common that the majority of the literature and history of other country are written by different languages. Even though some books have translation, it still hard for the children to understand all of them deeply and correctly. A survey conducted by Seoul national University, the 70% of the students who took a world history in a primarily school responded it was too difficult to understand. This shows learning about other countries’s history is tough and challenging for the children. To sum up, it is evident that teaching children one’s history and literature is more important rather than the literature and history of other countries since it will help kids to have a sense of identity and make better futures. Furthermore, it is still difficult for young generation to understand another country ’s history and literature. So, schools teach kids the literature and history of their own country.