The proportion of elderly people in some societies is increasing rapidly.Do you think the negative effect of such trend outweigh the positive effect?

There is a rapid growth in the population of the elderly cohort in some countries. If this trend continues it could bring favourable along with unfavourable impacts on society.Even though there are some merits through it, its shortcomings far outweigh the benefits.I will give further argumentation in the below paragraphs. On the one hand, more veterans could bring a variety of important knowledge to the younger generation. For instance, the knowledge that the elderly had gained from experiences could be valuable assets for a company, if they give it to their juniors. Another beneficial aspect is elderly can help to nurture children because some elderly are considered to be wiser because of their long life experiences, this practice could help the productive group to lessen their burden from rearing their own children, and focus more on their work instead. Therefore, looking into this perspective elderly could play an important role to support younger people. On the other hand, if senior citizens are increasing it could result negatively in a country's economic condition. Evidence for this in one part of the Indonesia region in Malang, there are more elderly people than productive dwellers, which affects the slower pace of development compared to other regions. In addition, in terms of business perspective, older employees consider slower to comprehend information due to the limit of human physical condition. Hence, if a company keep the elderly to work, it could limit its production value. All in all, while it is beneficial if the elderly support the younger ones in some part, more productive age group individuals are more desirable to the development of regions and private sectors.