although many people value, this space could be better used for other purposes to what extent do you agree of disagree with this?

It is irrefutable that a lot of people absolutely love their parks; however, some people opine that the area occupied by parks can be utilized in a more beneficial way by building residential and commercial structures there. I agree with this view and in my opinion, this is the best way to utilize the land occupied by public parks. Firstly, building more residential spaces will give a chance to poor people to find affordable accommodation/ homes. Property prices are pretty high in most cities around the world because of the scarcity of land. Converting parks into residential areas will free up more space where new buildings can be built. If more homes are built, prices will come down and homes will be more affordable to poor people. Consequently, they will not have to live in the unhygienic shanties that are common in highly congested cities like Mumbai. If parks are used for building commercial establishments, it is good for the economy too. Of course, this conversion is bad for the environment and air quality. However, considering the huge population that requires homes in cities, this is the price that we have to pay for making homes affordable and available to the masses. If poor people cannot find homes and are forced to live in slums, it is not good for them or the city as the slums could be breeding grounds for various infectious diseases and even crime. To conclude, parks are certainly a necessity; unfortunately, for the vast majority of space-starved cities in the developing world, they are a luxury. Since building homes is a more pressing need than improving air quality or offering relaxation, in my opinion, parks should be converted into residential or commercial areas.