Many businesses choose to recruit from within their own country rather than sourcing staff from overseas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

A plethora of commercials now chooses to hire local employees over foreign ones. This essay will elucidate all merits and demerits of this phenomenon. On the one hand, hiring local workers astronomically contributes to the native job market, and, consequently, the economy of that country. To explain it, the lower the percentage of unemployment in a government, the lower the risk of potential poverty. As a result, living conditions within the country mount up substantially, paving the way for greater opportunities for the nation. To prove that, the research held by postgraduates of Columbia University concluded that up to a quarter of the local budget of Kazakhstan goes overseas due to an increasing number of foreign employees out there. On the other hand, shortlisting recruits by their home countries may undermine not only the international relationships on the whole but the product of a company as well. The reason behind that is an insufficient number of well-qualified professionals within the country. Regarding the fact that potential employees belong to a particular area, instead of prioritizing their level of professionalism, will possibly lead to, in the worst-case scenario, going bankrupt. To cite an example, in 2022 the Russian cosmetic franchise Gold apple, turned down all the applications of overseas workers for the new opening as a Web and IT developer because of exacerbated relationships with the majority of countries around the globe. As a result, the company's website collapsed three times, and they are still in search of a high-qualified specialist. To sum up, despite the advantage of recruiting workers within the country for the local economy, which has not, however, proven to be practical for one hundred per cent, the two possible drawbacks, which are the lack of international cooperation and bankruptcy, obviously outweigh.