Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental protection and cleanliness is a responsibility of all individuals living in this planet. While other people believe that only government and large companies can make a difference to improve our mother nature, I completely disagree on this statement as normal citizen can also do their part in protecting and improving the environment. On the one hand, government and large companies can use their resources in cleaning and protecting the environment. Their machineries and manpower resources are great tools to effectively clean and protect the enviroment in the fastest way. Aside from that, they also have the financial means to support organization like cleanliness drive in order to maintain the cleanliness of the surrounding. Thus, government and large scale businesses play a vital part in environmental cleanliness and protection. On the other hand, it is everyone responsibility to protect our mother earth, whether how big or small we are. By doing simple gesture like proper waste disposal, avoiding littering in the street and not doing vandalism on public places are much of enourmous way in saving our planet. For example, a regular citizen who puts up a cleanliness drive in order to clean the stagnant river, makes an enormous change to the eneviroment. Hence, it doesn't necessarry necessarily to be in the position or owning a company in order to help, as long as people take their own part in making the environment nice place to live in. In conclusion, although government and huge companies can assist for the improvement and beautification of the surrounding, I do believe that even simple indiviual has a power to make a difference for our mother nature.