In many countries small shops and towns centers are going out of business, because people tend to drive to the large out-of-town stores. This results in an increase in car use and it also means that people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores. Do you think advantages of such development outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, a network of roads has been developed between towns. Thus, people are more inclined towards shopping in big cities which has a negative impact on businesses in small towns as well as increases the cost of purchased goods. I believe, the following practice has more drawbacks in comparison to the benefits associated with the aforementioned trend. To begin, people going out of their vicinity to buy a product which is also available in their area is adding an extra financial burden on individuals. Unconsciously, they are spending more on travelling than the original price of goods. For instance, if they buy the same item from a store near their home, they will have to pay far less in terms of total expenditure. Moreover, the travelling time can be utilized for other recreational activities such as watching movies with a family or playing games to spend quality time with the family. Furthermore, local businesses are badly affected by this shift due to a limited number of customers. On the other hand, the bright side of the picture includes the availability of better quality and mental satisfaction. Undoubtedly, large towns have shopping malls with all the varieties present under one roof. Therefore, people feel comfortable buying the best available options. For example, in case of any issue with the product, they have to face the fatigue of driving all the way back in order to exchange or return the item. To conclude, by considering the rising cost and extra miles associated with shopping from large out-of-town stores, it is evident that the advantages like mental satisfaction and personal contentment become insignificant. Hence, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.