In many countries, the government prioritizes economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this

This has been globally recognized that a nation's growth is measured by its economic success. Due to this, many countries around the world focus more on this kind of development and overlook different crucial sectors and issues. This essay will shed light on both its merits and demerits. To commence with its advantages, firstly, the significance of economic growth for a country's overall development can not be ignored. A strong and constant growth in revenue reflects a symbol of dominance for a country at a global level, because of this cut-through competition among democracies, they focus more on the revenue-generation models which consist of attracting foreign direct investments (FDI) or developing infrastructure and technologies. Secondly, this expenditure not only helps in decreasing unemployment but also generates additional cash flow for the government. On the other hand, this form of development also leads to various consequences. Major other important sectors are usually overlooked such as sports, arts and drama etc. In addition to this, the involvement of a nation in a single-dimensional development approach is more likely to create pressure and endanger the natural resources, followed by impacting adversely the environment. Research suggests that countries that focus mainly on economic advancement are less likely to commit to the environment and other non-important sectors. To sum up, without a doubt economic growth is a major part of every developing country and they should keep investing in further advancements. However, they should not neglect and overlook the significance of other sectors and other crucial concerns relating to the environment.