Some people think that it is better for high school students to study a wide range of subjects than to focus on a narrow range of subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Never have the topics concerning education failed to attract the public's attention. However, when it comes to if it is a better choice to let pupils engage in various subjects, I disagree with this opinion for the reason that although students will be open to more possibilities by learning diverse courses, it will exert some negative effects and the fixed scope of subjects will be more suitable for students. It is undeniable that sometimes studying various courses can be an essential part of a student’s development. Initially, pupils are more likely to find their specialised area among a wide range of courses. Lessons like music and art can provide students with more opportunities to explore their real interests and talents. This is particularly important for high school students as most of them in this stage are not fully aware of aptitude. Apart from that, non-academic subjects can help them to become more well-rounded. Logical and abstract thinking can be greatly developed when he or she is practising math questions, and through the study of history, one learns about how societies and countries were formed and how past events shaped them. By contrast, those studying a narrow range of subjects may miss access to new ideas and concepts in many areas. However, fixed types of subjects are more feasible under the current education system, while some unnecessary classes will exacerbate students ’ burdens. Most high school students are already confronted with excessive academic stress, without being given the added courses. Chances are that they will feel academically overwhelmed when they are compelled to have more classes; for example, force science students to attend history classes. Additionally, those non-academic courses will occupy the time that should have been allocated to study. Since their homework and exams are likely to remain the same but the available time for them to complete those tasks will decline, their academic life will be more intense. In conclusion, I am against the view that educating high school students with a wide range of subjects is better than from a narrow scope of subjects.