Should students choose a university major that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The job market has increasingly become more competitive in recent times. Therefore, many people believe that studying some particular major would lead one to a successful and well-paid career. Personally, I strongly disagree with this phenomenon, and this essay will provide reasons why I feel that students should have a right to learn whatever they are interested in. Motivation and passion are instead the most important factors that lead young generations to an accomplished life and lucrative income in the long run. Although it is true that the average salary of graduates from particular schools, such as law, medicine, and engineering, is higher than those in any other majors, many people can also generate high remuneration despite their unpopular jobs. For instance, J.W. Rowlings, a writer of Harry Potter, had waited for several years until the novel became a cultural phenomenon that captured the attention of millions around the globe and finally made her a millionaire. Working without inspiration and devotion will consume one's energy and cause one's life to eventually drain away. Indeed, everyone can achieve financial success with willingness and enthusiasm. Due to a lack of motivation and passion, undergraduates will potentially have exposure to mental illness and stress-related issues. Learning what they are not passionate about may take much more effort and patience than a major they are attracted to. In Thailand, for example, parents pressure their children to become high-salaried professionals. Those expectations and social norms offer children no choice except to choose a well-recognised major in their admission, resulting in more and more young psychological patients when they suffer from education. Indeed, mind-related sickness should be taken seriously. In conclusion, it is not necessary to enrol in some specific majors in order to build well-paid careers because students are able to receive generous compensation if they do their best with passion and motivation. As a result, they will unlikely be exposed to mental distress.