Nowadays older people often live in retirement homes with people of their own age instead of living with their children. Is it a positive or negative development?

In current times, it is common for senior citizens to stay in nursing homes with their peers and not live with their offspring. This essay firmly states that this trend is beneficial. I believe that care establishments provide a healthy atmosphere for the elderly from both physiological and mental perspectives. Aged parents tend to feel depressed because most of them lose attention when they are living with their children. It is common to see that many adults are preoccupied with work and their own family affairs while pensioners are idle after retirement and require acknowledgement and care in order to avoid the feeling of loneliness. Living in retirement homes provides more opportunities for the elderly to interact with people who reach the same stage of life which increases their confidence as well as their well-being. Furthermore, although old people tend to live longer in comparison to the past, they are vulnerable to a variety of chronic diseases such as Alzheimer’s disease and cancer. People with these health issues should receive extra care, otherwise there may be serious consequences if an accident happens. However, adults usually need to work, resulting in their parents staying at home alone. In this case, sending elderly parents to retirement homes may be a better alternative as caregivers in these organizations have professional skills and tend to the elderly in a more ideal way. To conclude, people in modern society need to manage a hectic schedule and fail to spend enough time and provide sufficient care for their parents. Living in retirement homes seems to be a better choice for them as they can be cautiously treated by professionals and feel better when spending time with their friends.