Surveys show that people are living longer in many countries. But increased life expectancy has many implications for aging individuals and for society as a whole. What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society?

Along with the boom of a globalised world, citizens in some nations have a tendency to exist longer. It is demonstrated that the older people get, the more affected the countries will be. This essay will both give examples and demonstrate some influences. One of the major issues associated with this is that the government have to give more care to people living on a pension, thus, the increase in retirement pension leads to the abuse of social welfare expenses. For instance, it has been proven that old individuals’ life these days depends most on relatives, which means adolescents have to make ends meet for themselves and even for their elderly. Another serious problem is that senior citizens run a higher risk of contracting certain diseases such as cardiovascular and lung issues, as a result, insurance companies have to pay for those health matters of these old insurers. The rise in life expectancy can be blamed on laziness in getting married. This is perfectly exemplified in the case of some countries such as Japan, people tend to live alone by themselves, they don’t want to find a companion in life which breed an imbalance of birth and death rates. Moreover, it will affect seriously the economy of the area and the government have to encourage immigration to compensate for this loss. In conclusion, althoughliving a longer life is accepted, people and the government have to find many measures to balance the rates of young and old citizens. Consequently, it will affect both individuals and the community if this problem isn’t tackled.