Teenagers are spending too much time on computers and this will lead to a severe problem in their mental and physical health. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Parents often worry about the negative effect of computer use on their teenage children because they spend too much of their leisure time on PCs, laptops and tablets. I share their concerns because the current generation of adolescents is more exposed to technology than ever before. Spending too much time on smart machines can be harmful to teenagers’ mental health. Although computers do offer practical benefits such as study materials and e-books, they lack the motivation to utilize these virtues. Instead, they spend most of their computer time watching movies and dramas, chatting or playing games. While these aspects of using computers may not seem to be harmful to teenagers in the short term, the genuine problem occurs when they stop doing their homework or alternative hobbies such as outdoor activities. In this case, they might feel bored when doing anything away from the computer, and their general motivation and cognitive development could be slowed by brain fog focusing on virtual activities. Physical health is negatively affected if they devote most of their attention to computers as well as mental health. Young people usually lead a sedentary life or lie down for a long time while using these devices. Correspondingly, they are at a higher risk to become unfit and obese unless they get up and do physical exercise on a regular basis. Furthermore, those who are addicted to playing computer games and chatting programmes are increasing, and this leads to a lack of sleep as a consequence of late-night use. In addition, the repetitive actions involved in using computers can cause repetitive strain injuries to their fingers and wrists as well as dry eyes. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I totally agree that we should aim to limit the amount of time teenagers spend on computers.