Some people think visitors to other countries should imitate local customs and behaviour. Some pople disagree, they think the host country should welcome cultural differenecs. Discuss the two views and give your opinion.

There are various customs around the world. While many support visitors to follow regional customs, others argue that cultural differences should be celebrated by the host nation instead. This essay will explain both views in detail and provide the reasons why I think that a mix of both is fundamental. Firstly, those who prioritise customs believe that this is a way for outsiders to show respect to the visiting country. For example, everyone in Saudi Arabia dresses modestly, especially inside a mosque which is holy for Muslims. As a result, if tourists also wish to visit a mosque then they should follow the instructions practised for decades out of respect for the Saudi community. On the other hand, those who claim that local customs should not be bound on visitors; rather states should appreciate cultural differences and have a valid perspective. That is visitors should not only learn from the visiting country but also educate about their culture too. For instance, a Hindu or Muslim visiting abroad can teach them about their dietary restrictions, otherwise their food cannot be accommodated properly. Hence, tourism can be an excellent form of education if treated that way. In my opinion, I feel it is important to preach a bit of both. That is the host state's culture should be practiced by tourists and some cultures from the tourists should be permitted by the visiting country for educational purposes. There must be a 'give and take' situation in order to fully benefit from the wonderfully diverse and multicultural communities of this globe. To conclude, although there are numerous reasons why tourists should and should not follow local customs, I think there should be a middle ground. In other words, both parties should respect the practices of each other and not restrict it to only one side.