Inspite of the advantages made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Even though agriculture is progressing considerably and has become the basic part of the economies of some countries, many peoples around the world are suffering from famine. It is believed that this issue is due to inevitable climatic problems and civil wars ongoing in some countries. Despite the huge advances in agriculture, there are several reasons why some countries have difficulty in providing their citizens with their primary needs for food. A major cause of the problem is that the agriculture of certain African countries, such as Yemen and Ethiopia, is usually affected by drought every year. Dry weather conditions are causing the crops to die, as a result of which local inhabitants are weakening from hunger and the economy is ruining. Furthermore, countries like Syria and Afghanistan have also the same trouble which is brought about by different wars continuing in these territories. The civil wars in Syria, to take one instance, are damaging significantly the economy of the country and consequently causing a lack of food and other staples. On the whole, by implementing new techniques in agriculture and trying to stop civil wars starvation can be solved or alleviated. However, it is easy to say but requires more attention and successful efforts. Firstly, countries in arid areas should implement new techniques of dryland farming which are more efficient and used in most developed countries or planting crops which are more tolerant of drought like rye ought to be encouraged. Secondly, civil wars in some countries should be reduced or stopped if possible and this can relieve or diminish the problem of starvation in those countries. Because of the fact that there are the impacts of much bigger countries like the USA on these, wars the UN should do more to tackle such issues. In conclusion, climatic problems and wars are causing many people to starve. In my opinion, new farming methods and maintaining peace in fighting countries can solve this.