Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing ttaffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, the problems of increasing vehicles and pollution are aggravated. I agreed that increasing the price of petrol is one of the methods to solve the above problems, but it is not the best way, indeed,there is a myriad of methods to tackle the problems. Increasing the price of fuels is definitely one of the ways that may help with the above problems. By increasing the price of fuels, some people may find it more difficult in affording them, and hence, they would drive less and consider using more public transport in daily life. As fewer people drive private cars, fewer fossil fuels will be burnt, and as a result, fewer air pollutants will be produced. However, as a huge number of private drivers come from the middle or even high socio-economic class, not many of them will concern about the price of petroleum, therefore, not many drivers will reduce their frequency of driving even though the price of fuel is increased. Besides increasing the price of fossil fuels, I think the most significant and effective solution to solve the problems in long term is that the government should review and further develop the public transportation system in a place. Currently, many people choose to drive as they find that it is very inconvenience for them to travel around the community by using public transport. If the government can analyze current traffic problems and further improve the transportation system by such as developing new bus routes which allow people to access remote areas or adding more stops between the current tram and bus stations, people will be more willing to take public transport. As a result, the number of cars in town will be reduced and the air pollution problem will be less severe. Moreover, the government need to raise public awareness about air pollution by launching campaigns and television advertisements. Air pollutants do not only come from burning fuels in driving, indeed, they also come from many other human daily activities like using daily electronic gadgets. Every individual not only the drivers should be responsible for the problems. Government can work with electronic gadgets factories and label the devices that are environmentally friendly. With the labels, people are able to identify environmentally friendly applicants and switch from using traditional energy-consumption electronic gadgets to them. In conclusion, although I agree that increasing the price of petrol is able to solve the problem of growing traffic and pollution, it is not the best method. I believe that increasing public awareness and developing a better public transportation will be a better way to improve the problems in long term.