One way to solve problem of congestion in cities is to build sky trains which run overhead rather than on or under the ground. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using this solution to solve congestion?

It is clear that in recent times, globalization has taken a toll on everything. With the continuous increase in the population, traffic problems in the urban areas have gone up significantly as well. It is a commonly held argument among the pupil that in order to make the congestion bearable, the government should take the initiative of building overhead sky trains. This essay will elucidate my assertions in the forthcoming paragraphs. In my opinion, with the rapid increase in the congestion problems that create a bottleneck for the cars present on the roads, building the metro line on top would be of great help to the entire community. For example, in order to save space on roads, constructing a passage for the overhead metro stations and connecting that to the pedestrian bridges will not only benefit the people to commute easily but also it will save space on the land for the individuals who drive cars or motorbikes. In this way, people can also enjoy the views via sky train than by commuting through an underground train. Although, elevated railroads have many benefits of their own they also have some disadvantages attached to them. The development cost is relatively higher due to which citizens will have to pay huge ticket prices. Moreover, the cables of the trains are more vulnerable to climatic changes and require an excessive amount of maintenance hence making it expensive for daily commuters. For example, it is commonly seen that more servicing is carried out during the monsoons instead of other seasons. Therefore, to conclude, I strongly believe that although the trains have many advantages attached to them considering that they are spacious and can reduce the congestion on the roads, however, every feasibility has some disadvantages attached to it and so is the case with the overhead trains.