Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children, whereas others say that it has positive effects on the way children develop. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent decades, computer games have become a popular activity among our younger generation. Many individuals argue that such activities have been causing detrimental effects on the development of children whereas others believe the contrary. I strongly advocate the latter opinion because it provides essential skills to the children. This essay will discuss both sides, my opinion followed by a comprehensive conclusion. To commence, games have been causing serious psychological effects on the minds of children, and they lose the ability to focus on any concept. To illustrate, students involved in excessive gaming are found to be scoring lower grades in examinations. Similarly, such students have shown greater indiscipline in school activities. Overall, it leads to mental tiredness and one loses the ability to relate to real-life events. On the flip side, these activities develop cognitive ability, and users tend to become digitally literate. To explain further, children develop problem-solving skills as games challenge them to overcome different stages of difficulty. For instance, computer-proficient individuals are in high demand across the globe. Hence, it helps in the overall development of children. In my opinion, digital games have shown significant positive results in students' mental development. As a result, such individuals become more successful in their lives as they possess the skills required for jobs. To conclude, computer games have shown many advantages and disadvantages in the development of children. One side argues that it has led to many psychological issues in children whereas others have highlighted its positive consequences. Overall, parents must keep a check on their children's gaming habits.