Young people are strongly influenced by fashion, such as clothing or hairstyle. Is it a positive or negative development?

Fashion is unavoidable and it plays a critical role in shaping our lives and society. These days, young people and teenagers can easily access fashion information in seconds with no limits. If fashion is exposed to an immature mind, it will result in negative consequences. First of all, teenage children nowadays are spending a lot of time and money on fashion while craving fashion magazines or TV shows. They are inclined to mimic models and celebrities through these media, and search for trendy clothes and accessories on the Internet rather than working on their assignments or studying harder. In addition, adolescents are at a higher risk of becoming obsessed with looking good in others’ eyes as opposed to taking a healthy interest in their appearance because they are strongly influenced by celebrities. Self-consciousness and vanity are harmful to their mental health. Next, due to the rapid change in fashion trends, it has the potential to make young people depressed. This means they could feel unsatisfied when they can not keep up with the latest fashion trend. Also, a number of teenage children are trying out a wide variety of beauty products on their hair and skin to imitate models in fashion magazines. Using these goods within a short period can cause acne breakouts or other dangerous allergy reactions. Moreover, fashion puts a huge amount of pressure on young minds, so they constantly compare their appearance with celebrities, and this ultimately leads to their low self-esteem, insecurity and depression. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I totally insist that fashion trends do have a negative impact on youngsters because they should be aiming to find satisfaction from within.