High stakes English language tests, such as the IELTS, are increasingly being delivered on the computer. Do the advantages of computer-based testing outweigh the disadvantages?

English language tests are taken by thousands of students and individuals on a daily basis across numerous countries. Whilst in past years it was common to present paper-based exams, computer -based exams are becoming more popular nowadays. In my opinion, technology is key for time management and efficiency and for delivering faster results. Computer -based exams have several advantages. First, they are beneficial for students who possess poor calligraphy, for,example those who write in cursive can type in a standard computer font that can be easily understood. Therefore, examiners can review individual tests faster. Additionally, computer -based exams are positive for the environment as they don't support the deforestation of trees to produce paper, millions of paper sheets can be saved with this new digital practice. One last benefit is that exams are organized and kept on digital files and they do not need to be physically stored in language institutions centres. On the other hand, delivering an exam on a computer can be challenging for individuals who lack computer skills such as typing capital letters, adding question marks or following machine instructions. Another one of the drawbacks is that it is often argued that there is no opportunity for students to write and draft ideas, moreover the revision time is severely reduced than in paper-based exams. In conclusion, there are numerous advantages to computer -based exams such as time efficiency to provide a final score and they support good environmental practices. In my opinion, the exams should be continued to be delivered on computer and paper-based exams need to be eventually discontinued.