It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In the modern days, everybody wants to become an engineer and doctor to serve the nation and get better career opportunities, However, it has been experienced a majority of pupils are not interested in science subjects due to not getting admission in their dream courses. There are many causes such as all science students being unable to get admission to their favourite professions courses. Due to less interest in these subjects, the country suffers from many issues such as a shortage of doctors, engineers, and scientists. I will outline two causes and negative effects on the country. Certainly, there are many causes for to shortage of scientists,doctors, and engineers. The main important reason is that many students passed previous science subjects and had dreams to get admission to engineering colleges and medical institutions but due to limited seats available in the country, they cannot get admission to these institutions. For example, in India every year millions of students pass science subjects and due to fewer medical and engineering positions available in these universities, all of them are unable to get admission. Another reason is science subjects require more time and dedication to pass and many students cannot spend time to pass these courses because they know after passing they will not get admission to their favourite courses. On the other hand, there are some effects on society. The primary reason is countries cannot produce required professionals such as doctors, engineers, and scientists and they have to depend on immigrants to run their economy and look after their citizens. For instance, in the year 2020 COVID-19 came into effect all over the world and many citizens died due to the shortage of medical and scientific professionals because every country needs professionals to look after their citizens. As a result, there was a huge loss of people and nations' economies. In conclusion, following the analysis the causes such as science need more hard work and if students are unable to get preferred subjects in universities, they will not register for science subjects, however, it puts an extra burden on society to bring overseas professionals to look after their citizens and boost the economy of the country.