the percentage of overweight children in western societies has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

Nowadays in Europe and USA, the rate of overweight children has risen by around 20% which shows that changes in western societies have some negative effects on people. The situation should be reversed for the sake of society, and to have a happier and healthier society. There might be several reasons for this increase such as dietary trends, physical inactivity and habits. It can be said that compared to previous years, the lifestyles of children have become sedentary because of technological improvements. Recently, most of them prefer to meet their friends via the internet by playing online games which makes them unwilling to go out and play physical games. Since many children prefer this way of entertainment, it has become their habit. Additionally, due to the increased number of fast food restaurants and improvements in online food delivery systems, the tendency to eat unhealthy nutrition has augmented as well. As a result of these changes and the increased number of obese children, possible health and psychological problems may arise in the near future. Being overweight can cause diabetes, since the rate of carbohydrates in the body goes up. Moreover, sleep apnea, which may end up with some fatal conclusions during sleep, is another effect of obesity. Besides health issues, psychological problems like, having low self-esteem because of appearance and being exposed to exclusion by friends. To decrease the rate of overweight children, schools may initiate activities that attract children to play outside games. Also, the number of physical education lessons can be increased or competitions can be organized. Since the prize stimulates the children, they will be eager to attend such kind of activities. Furthermore, parents may influence their children to eat healthy foods by arranging some family meal preparation activities. To conclude, since obesity will create some crucial issues for people in the future, the daily habits of children, which are the main cause of the problem, should be changed. For me, parents and schools play an important role in changing this situation.