Education is not a luxury but a basic human righ and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that education plays a significant role in our lives. It is believed that schooling should be free of cost for everyone belonging to every sect of society as it is not a luxury but a right that every citizen has. In this essay, I will explain why I disagree with this belief with examples. Firstly, there are several things which are necessary in order to provide education. These are basic things such as producing books, building modern infrastructure and hiring a workforce in the form of professors and other teaching staff. To fulfil these tasks, a separate budget is allocated. If the government decides to make education free, it would not be a feasible option for the finance ministry of the nation. For instance, the education system would not generate the revenue it was generating earlier and help the country financially. Secondly, there might be a possibility that the citizens get used to these freebies. This can lead to them wanting other facilities like travel by public transport free of cost. For example, special subsidies being granted to people travelling by busses or trains. If the administration agrees to this demand, it can help them in elections, but again, this would mean compensating a chunk of the revenue for a few amount of votes. This might look good on paper, but is not sustainable in the long run. In conclusion, although education is a basic human right and should be free of cost as some believe, I disagree with this thinking as it has some drawbacks attached to it.