In the future,nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything online without paying. To what extent do do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The internet is used by many people nowadays. Thus, it is argued that in the next years, no one will purchase any reading materials which are hard copy because such books will be available online for free. This essay totally disagrees with this thought because nothing online will be for free and some individuals will still prefer hard copies. To begin with, the coming of the internet does not mean that all books will be free. Allowing people to freely read online without paying will be a loss for publishing companies and even authors. It would instead demotivate a lot of writers as authoring will become useless because they would not be able to put food on the table. For example, there are already laws protecting books to be read for free online. The million dollar question then is what would have changed by then to make online reading free? Therefore, I think books will be available online in the near future but people will pay to read them. Furthermore, even if all newspapers were put on the internet, certain individuals will still want to do it the traditional way. This means, other people especially the aged usually value how they grew up. Taking away hard copies will be a form of disrespect to them. For instance, a certain study showed that, elderly humans prefer the old style of living and most of them are not fascinated by the coming of the internet because they think it has destroyed many youths and families. Thus, the availability of online materials does not fascinate everyone, some individuals are old school. To conclude, it is argued that in the coming years, all books will be read on computers only and for free. This essay disagreed with this assertion because elders would still want hard copies of newspapers,and that, even if they would available on air, they will not be for free.