One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Surging global populations have led some to suggest genetically modified foods as one potential avenue for meeting demand. In my opinion, though this new food technology has its risks, it is a viable solution. Detractors point to the unknown effects of GM foods on the human body. It is common sense that many of the methods in practice today, such as injecting livestock with growth hormone are not only unethical but also could have unintended adverse effects. This situation mirrors that of artificial preservatives, which some researchers believe are one of the catalysts behind rising cancer rates. The longitudinal studies currently being done on GM food consumption are inconclusive and the industry is evolving so quickly that they may be irrelevant by the time they have clear results. Nonetheless, the dangers detailed above will decrease with more research and it is a burgeoning science with unlimited potential. The research into GM foods so far has helped to create insect-resistant crops, which decreases the need for pesticides that have their own risks to health. Scientists claim that as they learn more about genetics, they will be able to create foods with greater nutritional content. Moreover, there are new crops, such as strains of corn and okra, that can be grown with less water than normal. This is particularly important in regions susceptible to famine like sub-Saharan Africa. In conclusion, the possible health risks of GM foods do not outweigh the logic of taking full advantage of emerging innovations. There should be controls and regulations but this research should be ongoing.