Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Due to technological advancements using gadgets such as tablets, and smartphones among kids has been increasing incrementally in recent times. So it is highly likely for them to stick to the screen for a long time not only it can detrimental effect on children's eyesight but also it can severely affect their well-being of them physically and mentally. In my view, the potential threats of this trend are much greater than its positive effect. Nowadays, the world has seen an unprecedented increase in the number of children using phones. Therefore, there are many features integrating these mobile devices, especially the Internet and social media - the reason why children spend more hours on their smartphones. To be more specific, children are easily distracted by their phones and the Internet is full of diverse content that can catch their attention and amuse them as much as possible. For instance, the majority of kids make a habit of playing online video games and watching different kinds of cartoons which comes down to their interests. Moreover, if they use a lot of time their phones it highly likely gives a great sense of fulfilment and entertainment. On the other hand, spending a lot of time on smartphones can cause several health problems. First and foremost, many children are addicted to accessing different kinds of entertainment and colourful things which can easily amaze them. This is because their eyes are detrimentally affected by the light screens and it can lead to eye strain. As a result, they have to wear glasses as they have a problem with their eyes as much possible as they could. Apart from that, they might develop many mental problems not only from the toxic content of the Internet and social media but also from physical inactivity. For instance, if children sit in one place for long hours and play online games without any exercise it may lead to a sedentary lifestyle. Consequently, kids can not have enough to exercise on a daily basis and it may cause several health issues ranging from sleep deprivation to escapism. In conclusion, thanks to sophisticated gadgets, many kids are addicted to using a lot in recent years. I am of the view that they have a tendency to stick to the screen because of the fantastic entertainment it offers. As a result, it can cause several problems in terms of their health such as poor eyesight and lack of physical activity in their life.