The best way to obtain/ the key to/ most important factor in job satisfaction is salary. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (Best-way)

A number of factors can contribute towards somebody’s happiness in their career life. Having taken other factors into consideration, I, however, disagree that monetary compensation is the key to job fulfilment. On the one hand, it is clear that salary can play a role in people’s job contentment. Firstly, workers’ quality of life highly depends on their financial circumstances. For example, a good amount of money received by employees in exchange for their working time enables them to meet their daily needs and pay the bills to have a comfortable life. The fact that most people work hard to get salary increases shows that salary does a vital role. Secondly, if people obtain higher incomes than they need, they can satisfy their tertiary needs. Not only can they spend their money on visiting some tourist destinations and buying luxury consumer goods, but they can also save it for their retirement. Regardless of how they opt to spend their earnings, high-paying jobs prevent them from having an otherwise tedious life. Despite the importance of salary in relation to career satisfaction, I believe there are other more crucial factors. Firstly, work- life balance is vital. Take some salesmen for example, who can sell their products and earn commission worth thousands of dollars a month by working overtime to exceed their companies’ sales targets. In spite of generating such a large amount of money, they may frequently be overworked, having little to no spare time for their loved ones and their hobbies. Furthermore, a work environment often determines how satisfied workers are with their careers. Being surrounded by supportive colleagues and caring leaders, they can focus on teamwork instead of competition against each other, consequently making it less likely for them to get into personal conflicts. In contrast, having colleagues who try to hamper their career development can create a stressful work atmosphere, which is harmful to their mental well-being. In conclusion, although lucrative jobs might lead to workers being happy, it is work- life balance and a positive working climate that are an integral part of job satisfaction. Thus, I remain firmly convinced that salary is not the major reason behind job satisfaction.