Nowadays many teenagers choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

The future of the labour force is often a discussion topic that takes root in the growing trend of recent graduates and young adults to work independently regardless of their level of education and social-economical background. Personally, being self-employed have many upsides and can be a great opportunity for adolescents to acquire new sets of skills and get more experience in their chosen industry. It is popular for the youth to become self-employed for different reasons. To begin with, most want financial independence and they are not excited about committing to a work schedule or following instructions, as an example most senior students plan to travel after graduation and freelance jobs provides the opportunity to work fully remotely, therefore they are able to manage their own work hours. Moreover, some modern corporations do not offer enough benefits for the young labour force. There are many cases in which enterprises, which most carry rigid and old-fashioned structures, favour nepotism or friend recommendations and do not provide a solid career plan for entry-level jobs to pursue higher positions and climb the corporate ladder. However, there are some major challenges new young entrepreneurs must face when becoming self-employed. Firstly, they must tend to all areas of an enterprise by themselves, for,instance they often have to do financial tasks, pursue sales and overlook production at the same time, leading to a work overload and high levels of stress. Secondly, as they must invest capital resources for the new company and sales are not easily achieved, financial instability is very common and most self-employed do not receive a monthly salary or retribution in the first six months of business operations. In conclusion, current work conditions and the desire to achieve financial independence are the main causes of teenage self-employment, meanwhile high-stress levels and financial instability are among the drawbacks. From my point of view, there are significant positive outcomes from entrepreneurship and youngsters must be encouraged and supported by the government with lower taxes and general training in business management.