Some people believe that lowering the speed limit is the best way to improve road safety. Others think that there are other ways to make roads safer. Discuss these two options and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that overspeeding plays a major role in the case of an accident. While some people think road security can be enhanced by reducing the speed limit, others believe there are additional ways in which pavements can be made safer. In this essay, I will discuss the two sides and explain why I agree with the latter argument with examples. Firstly, lowering the rate at which vehicles travel may also lead to the possibility of traffic jams. For example, this can happen when heavy load vehicles like buses and trucks act as a hindrance for other light weight vehicles trying to overtake them. In addition, roads such as highways are meant for people to commute quickly and conviniently. If the government decides to lower the speed limit, it might take the citizens longer hours to reach their destination which may have different consequences on their professional or personal lives. Secondly, the concept of speed breakers can be an essential factor behind improving road safety operations. Speed breakers are a form of bump which can lower the speed by a considerable amount. These are easy to install and can be mounted anywhere with little to no difficulty. For instance, intersections, crossroads and traffic signals are some of the places where these can be installed. Furthermore, imposing heavy duties on overspeeding is an effective way to promote safety and the revenue generated from it can be used towards the road maintenance. In conclusion, although limiting the vehicle speed can result into improving the security of our roads, I believe it can also be improved efficiently by mounting speed bumps and imposing fines on people who cross the speed limit.