In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

For many years people indulge in reading for various reasons. Recently, the trend of reading through the use of digital platforms has increased rather than using physical copies. Though there are some positive aspects of this, I believe that the demerits outweigh the merits. The following paragraphs will clearly convey my view with relevant examples. Ostensibly, the rise in the usage of digital devices such as computers, tablets and smartphones for numerous purposes. One of these is for indulging in literature. Undoubtedly, mobile phones comes with the convenience of easy-to-carry wherever we go. As a result, a person has easy access to the books stored on his mobile phone. To cite an example, most people in metropolitan cities commute through public transportation systems and read books from their smartphones rather than carrying a physical copy of it. Moreover, e- books require less amount of maintenance than hardcopy which can be unreadable after keeping them for a longer duration. Unequivocally, from a holistic viewpoint there are far more downsides to reading from an e-book. Firstly, those who are reading from their smartphone may not be able to concentrate on their reading material because of the distractions caused by their phones such as getting a call from someone or a notification on their device. In contrast, reading from a hard copy has very few distractions and also the absorption level of information would be higher than reading something digitally. The use of digital devices for a prolonged period of time may cause strain in the eyes. The increased eye fatigue can create sleep disorders and people who read books online are at an increased risk of this. For instance, a survey conducted by 'Cosmopolitan' in 2022 states that people who are habituated to reading from their digital devices at night time are getting less amount of quality sleep than others who prefer the physical way of reading. To recapitulate, even though the digital mode of books comes with the convenience of accessibility and maintenance, I believe that the disadvantages such as absorbing information, eye strain and the sleep disorders it causes outstrip its few advantages.