Some people think that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school while others believe childrens should not start until secondary school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Language plays a vital role in communicating with others. Learning a language begins from the age of twelve months by just imitating their parents. Children should start learning new languages at a tender age rather than acquiring second language skills during sophomore year. Kids have a higher level of intelligence quotient and thinking capabilities than normal individuals as they are in a stage of learning by exploring. Teachers should take advantage of it to inculcate interest in younger students because they pickup up languages much more easily than adolescents. For example, children at a very young age are very fond of rhymes and cartoons. If the same thing is applied to educating foreign languages using pictures and favourite cartoon characters they can learn the new language easily. Thus, teachers should encourage students starting from primary school to acquire new language skills. However, some people believe that learning a second language during the initial days creates confusion in toddlers and makes them ineffective in communicating with their peers. Therefore, it is better to concentrate on foreign languages during secondary school because they have a good foundation in their primary language. In addition to this, grown-up children can effectively learn language skills by interacting more with their peer group members where they apply their intelligence levels more effectively when compared to toddlers. To sum up, it is always better to learn new things, especially language when we can correct ourselves if we are going wrong and this can be done by a secondary school child when compared to a primary school kid. Therefore, it would not create any confusion among them.