Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the past decades, the evolution of technology has made it possible to produce excellent results in almost every field. Moreover, it can be noticed that there is an increase in the types of technological gadgets. It is safe to say that almost every person possesses at least one device, for example, smartphones, tablets or laptops and children are no exception these days. The latter tend to spend a lot of time browsing on their smartphones. There are both positive and negative impacts of this change in our society. I firmly believe that the negative effects outweigh heavily the positive impacts on an overall. On the one hand, it is undeniable that technology has thrived and that it enhances a person's knowledge. In addition, the integration of sophisticated features in these smartphones, in,particular the internet is one of the main reasons why children invest more time using their phones. To elaborate more, youngsters have a sense of exploration and are easily distracted. For instance, the young lads prefer to play games and watch cartoons or serials, which are easily accessed with a mobile phone and WIFI connection. Hence, they are more likely to be addicted due these devices contain a world of entertainment. On the other hand, excessive hours spent on smartphones or tablets can aggravate the health of children. As mentioned earlier, their addiction to games or cartoons can cause detrimental issues to their eyes due to the high-energy light, which is released by most devices. As a result, the majority of primary students nowadays have to wear glasses because of short-eye-sighted conditions. Furthermore, they may also develop mental problems not only because of toxic content present on social media but also due to some internal factors. For example, their childhood is not properly fulfilled because they rather spend their time on video games than practising outdoor sports and making friends. Consequently, autism and childhood depression are on a rise. To sum up, I strongly believe that children spend countless hour on their smartphones because of the fantastic entertainment it offers. However, their mental and physical health will significantly deteriorate if no control measures are implemented to provide a proper balance.