Some say the best way to deal with public health issues is to invest in developing new medicines. Others say that a better way is to promote a healthy lifestyle. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that the most effective way to manage public health problems would be to produce new pharmaceuticals, while others imply that supporting healthy habits represents a better option. This essay believes that although a great variety of medicines provide straight solutions to certain diseases, a balanced lifestyle would always be the key to avoid them. On one hand, medical research have offered plenty of solutions to almost every medical condition with the use of specific drugs to fight any bacteria or germs. These investigations improve year by year, consequently they come up with a broader list of medicines that we can ingest. Although it is impossible to deny that they are highly efficient, some of the secondary effects that they produce could make a person think twice before taking them. For example, it is a fact that "Ibuprofen" (a kind of painkiller) is taken by a high amount of people in Australia. However, not so many people talk about the side effects that it produces if it is taken for a long time such as the chance to get any liver damage. In contrast, others think that the best step to take in order to improve or prevent any health issue is to keep a healthy lifestyle. The one that includes constant exercise and a balanced diet in order not only to contract any disease but also to support in a holistic way a person's wellbeing. For instance, by the time I arrived to Australia, I started to feel dizzy and tired everyday. When I had a medical appointment, the doctor said that my body's level of iron was not enough due to the low iron diet I was following. Therefore, I decided to include more food which contains iron and protein. The changes I made have helped me to keep my health at its best. In conclusion, pharmaceuticals will always play a big role in our health system, providing a quick and effecient solution to any person who is struggling with certain diseases. Nevertheless, from my point of view, taking the right measures to prevent these problems represents a wiser choice.