Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is undeniable that many offspring play with their smartphones for a few hours every day. In my opinion, it is caused by the lack of regulations of their parents, which can lead to negative development, especially in children's characters. To begin with, the most common reason is related to the lack of parental control over how much children's screen time is and what type of content they watch. When their parents do not set an hour limit for their offspring's screen time, there is freedom for them to play with their smartphones as much as they want. For instance, once children play an interesting video on YouTube, they will be addicted to finishing their video and finding other appealing content. Without digital well-being and parental controls, thus, they are going to forget how much time they already spend scrolling social media. Spending hours on the screen can contribute to the lack of children's character. It is because offspring tend to shadow what they watch. For example, many children, who scroll Tik Tok stories and watch viral content that contains a negative attitude and sarcastic language, are likely to practise it with their friends in real life. As many children biologically are not able to differentiate whether the contents are positive or negative, they imitate the characters and use impolite language in daily usage. As a result, it will shape children's attitudes and influence their characters. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the major factor why many children spend hours on their gadgets is the loss of control of their parents. I suggest that this case leads to negative development since offspring have a tendency to imitate what they watch.