Some employers believe that job applicants’ social skills are more important than their academic qualifications. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some recruiters suppose that for candidates, soft skills are more crucial than academic background. I totally agree with this notion as social abilities are the bottom line when getting jobs. Firstly, being equipped with interpersonal skills such as communicating and interacting with co-workers helps job applicants to discuss with others and figure out solutions in any type of working environment. Hence, even a newbie who does not much specialized knowledge can contribute to solving and accomplishing assignments. Although academic capabilities play vital roles in the working process, they might become less effective in teamwork tasks requiring novel ideas from different perspectives if individuals are not able to connect with other colleagues in the workplace. Secondly, the ability to multitask is also important in people’s careers, especially in these days and ages when everything happens fast and simultaneously. If a worker is merely good at technical knowledge, he might be confused due to a lack of capability to complete different tasks constantly. Consequently, he will become overwhelmed by heavy workloads with tight deadlines then. For instance, in the advertising field, being able to handle many tasks is always prioritized as the employees have to monitor campaigns, make new plans and meet clients’ requests at the same time and their performance outcomes will be evaluated based on all the aforementioned scopes as opposed to solely professional knowledge. In conclusion, despite the undeniable importance of candidates’ educational backgrounds, I believe that being good at soft skills such as communication or multitasking is crucial in people’s careers since it can help them to improve not only individual results but also collective outcomes.