Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A particular set of people believe that marketing a product causes people to purchase in excess and end up buying what is not needed, while another believes that marketing lets people know about the product and helps them take the right decision. I strongly agree with the latter opinion that with promotion, people know more about a product and its newness and all the features of the product. Nonetheless, when a new item is advertised it could make individuals take shallow decisions to purchase it even if it is not what they need. Firstly, advertisement helps to put the product out there in the faces of its audience and clientele thereby, helping them make a better decision with enough information passed across in promotion. Also, when the promotion is done the new features of the item are shown and talked about, making it easier for an individual to select and making life easier for them. Furthermore, Marketing enhances the social lives of people, by carrying people along with the story told about the product through advertisement. For instance, seeing people dance in a production video with the same colour shirt create suspense for people watching it and everyone wants to know what is been advertised. In that way, it engages the people. Also, some advertisements are shown like a movie and this gives the audience a better social life. In addition, promotions encourage the audience of a product to give honest reviews about the product. This on the other hand also helps the manufacturers to take these reviews into consideration and improve the product based on the reviews gotten by the audience through promotion. In some cases, advertisement is all that a business needs to take it to the next level of profit and improve the lifestyle of the buyers. However, this could also result in individuals who just love to shop without considering the need for it, but this number of people is insignificant compared to the way lives to become better with marketing. In conclusion, promotion serves as the icing on the cake for every business and it is one of the finished products that works for an item as it helps the product reach the right people and results in a better life for the buyers.