Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays children tend to use their phones for relatively a long duration of the day. This trend has occurred because of many factors. While acknowledging the educational reason that may be one of the factors to overuse phones, I believe that it is a negative development,especially for their health. The following paragraphs will give further argumentation on this. First of all, the main reason for children to excessively use phones is that there are many intriguing activities that children can do with them. Watching videos or playing games are examples of this. Nowadays, rather than going outside and doing physical activities or traditional games with friends, a phone offers enormous also engaging activities for children. Secondly, entertainment sometimes is not always the reason, there are some children that needed smartphones for educational purposes such as attending online classes or looking for learning materials. However, whatever the case is, using a phone for a big amount of time per day is harmful to one's health. The most apparent effect of this is the effect on a person's eyesight such as myopia, and cataract, the blue ray radiation from the screen will become increasingly dangerous if it occurs for a long time. Additionally, when children are addicted to a smartphone, it could trigger them to apply a sedentary lifestyle and will lead them to more health problems such as obesity. All in all, although reasons for phone overuse are varied, it is still considered a negative development particularly when a child's screen time is too much. Hence, this could result in some health problems.