In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or smalls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is more common for people to purchase items, from groceries to make-up products, in large shopping malls than in small-scale shops. In this situation, many of it is have a hard time either bankrupt or even closing. From my perspective, I think it is beneficial to progress for consumers. To begin with, it is more convenient for people to buy things in a big shopping mall. For consumers, it can save a lot of time because large-scale malls are normally placed many kinds of products and brands for people to select in one area. Take me as an example. I would rather spend my time studying or working than shopping. Convenience is the thing I value the most. if I can purchase supplies for my daily life at one-stop shops, large shopping centres are the best choice for me. Secondly, consumers can purchase low-price products in large chain stores since a large company can purchase a lot of cargo to sell at the same time. This means, people may buy more items than expected with every coin. On the contrary, small neighbourhood stores sell higher prices of goods. That is the reason why small retailers are becoming fewer because they do not have a competitive price. For example, Carrefour, a chain store in Taiwan, provide products that are not only high-quality but also inexpensive. To sum up, from the reasons mentioned above, I believed that even small retailers are faced with an uncompetitive situation. But it is still positive progress for consumers buying things in big retailers.