Some people believe that it is the responsibility of the government to ensure a healthy lifestyle for its citizens. Others think that individuals should be responsible for their own health and lifestyle choices.

Many people contend that it is the government's responsibility to ensure a healthy lifestyle for its citizens. Others maintain that everyone should be responsible for their own health and lifestyle choices. This essay will discuss both opinions before giving a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, governments can directly influence people's food choices by introducing taxes on unhealthy food. This means that taxing highly processed food or sugar more heavily prevents many people from purchasing unhealthy meals. For instance, in Japan, where unhealthy food has steep price tags, most people choose the healthy variant because it is cheaper. This has resulted in an obesity rate of just 9% in all of Japan. In comparison, in the USA, where no such tax exists, obesity rates have reached 45%. This shows that government intervention can directly influence what people eat and lead them to a healthier lifestyle. On the other hand, individuals are ultimately responsible for their own health and lifestyle choices. For instance, nutritious foods such as vegetables and fruits are readily available at the same markets as unhealthy processed meals. Therefore, choosing a healthier lifestyle is everyone's choice, and individuals must decide for themselves whether they want to live with the negative consequences, such as diabetes, that an unhealthy diet can introduce. Moreover, a wide range of healthy options, like salads, require little to no cooking, which means that time-consuming food preparations are no longer an excuse. In summary, every individual must decide for themselves whether to take responsibility for their diet and, consequently, their health. In conclusion, while governments can influence people's unhealthy food choices by introducing higher taxes, individuals have to decide for themselves whether they want to live a healthy lifestyle. I firmly believe that people should be held responsible for their own food choices.