Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the recent times numerous individuals have chosen the path of self-employment rather than working for corporates or organisations mainly because being self-employed comes with unparalleled freedom. When a person is self-employed they have control over a lot of aspects that is usually missing while working for a company. Not only can they set their own schedule but also earnings for a particular job. For instance, when a person is working for a company that makes presentations for others they get paid a fixed amount at the end of the month whereas when the same individual is self-employed they can set the price as well as the time frame that works for them for a presentation. Although, there is a lot of freedom associated with it, self-employment does have some disadvantages. Firstly, the earnings are not fixed, one may have ample of income for a few months and no orders for next few months. Moreover, being successful requires a lot of perseverance and there might be a lot of ups and downs when you are self-employed. Hence, people have tremendous effect on their mental health and are under a lot of stress in order to get work. In conclusion, many people have chosen to be self-employed rather than work for corporates as it comes with a lot of freedom but there are a few mental health issues associated with that pathway.