Some people think climate change has a negative impact on business, while others think that it provides more business opportunities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, the impacts of climatic changes on several businesses have become a hotly debated topic. While a lot of people argue that climate change undoubtedly has detrimental effects on industries, others see it as an opportunity for enterprises to thrive. The following essay is going to discuss both sides of this argument and state my opinion on this matter. To begin with, climate variation hurt many businesses, notably agriculture. This is because crops and harvest seasons are heavily dependent on the weather, and extreme weather conditions such as drought, storm or wildfire will make the field yields a poor crop. For example, in recent years, the greenhouse effect has accelerated global warming, which contributes to the poor result of the harvest season, as the soaring heat would wither plants and vegetables. Moreover, facilities and companies’ properties could be destroyed due to natural disasters, namely earthquakes and floods, thus increasing the cost and efforts to rectify these buildings. All of these scenarios pose a threat to our trade and could be potentially resulted in a great depression. That being said, many industries find opportunities in the time of climate change, namely enterprises specialising in electronic devices. To put it in a simple way, companies will concentrate their resources on developing new products that help customers tackle extreme weather conditions. For instance, a new type of air conditioner that not only excels in keeping the room temperature low during scorching days but also energy saving even though consumers keep it turned on all day long. Online shopping would likely dominate the retailing industry, as customers will turn to this alternative during times when the temperature is not favourable. In this way, the sales figures of companies will not drop while at the same time maintaining customer satisfaction. In conclusion, I firmly believe that although industries will suffer from climatic changes and natural disasters, they may find solutions to handle the situation, as they have done for hundred years in the ever-changing market.