Many old buildings are protected to by law because they are part of a nation’s history. However, some think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old building? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Numerous heritage buildings are under the law's protection as they are a part of the country's history, however a few people think that such structures should be demolished and replaced with houses and offices. I believe that it is very important to maintain old buildings because without them the place would be devoid of any character. Firstly, it is very important for the citizens to know the history and culture of their nation, the old buildings are the embodiment of it. They act as a window to the past for the modern era. For example, the Taj Mahal is a significant part of India, it not only shows that the nation was once ruled by the Mughals but also influenced the architecture of the surroundings. Now, had such iconic structures been knocked down, one would not be able to perceive that Delhi was the main hub for Mughal emperors. Moreover, it is not the right thing to demolish heritage buildings to make way for progress, as cities always have the tendency to expand new lands are readily available in a short period of time. In the case of areas like Mumbai where the scope to expand is limited, vertical development can accommodate homes and offices on a small piece of land. Hence, instead of demolishing the old structures such novel ideas should be experimented with to provide residence and commerce with areas for development. To conclude, old buildings are a very important part of a country's history and without them we cannot look into the nation's past. Since, cities are always expanding new ideas should be implemented to increase the density of houses and offices rather than demolishing heritage buildings.