In many countries people increasingly talk about money (how much they earn or how much they pay for things) in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In many countries people increasingly talk about money (how much they earn or how much they pay for things) in their daily conversations. Why? Is this a positive or negative trend? Money-related topics, such as how much one earns or spends, are becoming more commonplace in everyday discussions across many countries. It is my belief that this phenomenon results from the importance of cash in our life. However, it is such a harmful trend since it might create a materialistic and prejudiced worldview. On the one hand, people often discuss topics related to wealth due to its relevance in daily conversations. Considering that to afford imperative necessities like food or housing, humans all need a certain amount of money. As a result, most individuals put a high value on financial problems and are willing to devote mental health to earn a living. In addition, it is considered to be an excellent conversation starter for discussing financial matters in several regions all over the world. Furthermore, this is a practical topic that everyone has an interest in. Besides, if a person has a prestigious job, they may even get admiration from others. Nevertheless, I believe that the aforementioned reasons are at the expense of greater drawbacks. Firstly, having such prejudices might make society obsessed with material objects. This means that society's social evaluations would be affected by prejudgments or superficial appearances instead of character qualities. Another negative consequence to be concerned about is that this phenomenon would foster discrimination. In reality, at school, children who cannot afford expensive items will be ridiculed and isolated by their peers. For instance, as reported in Vietnam Express in 2022, 70% of teenagers are looked down on by their classmates because of their family’s economic problems. In conclusion, the significance of wealth is a big problem that affects a lot of citizens nowadays. Unfortunately, this would be harmful since it may foster a materialistic and discriminatory viewpoint in many countries.