Some people think that children should be taught at school to recycle materials and avoid waste. Other people believe that children should be taught this at home. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

The topic of proper waste disposal and recyclation has become a widespread topic. This has immersed the debate that it is essential that children are taught these concepts. While some people believe that the education system should hold this responsibility, others oppose this, suggesting the parents should be the ones introducing these subjects. In this essay, I will be presenting both viewpoints. One viewpoint acknowledges that the schooling systems are best prepared to educate adolescents about various topics. Educators are adequately qualified individuals to present such ideas to young minds. Therefore, their capability to both accurately and skillfully convey information ensures children properly understand and implement the given knowledge. Additionally, the social aspect of participating in activities offered by schools not only further benefits children but also encourages creativity and teamwork when facing related issues. This often is the result of sharing ideas and solutions between peers, as well as coming together to realize them. The other group suggests that education on related issues should start at home, with parental figures as the primary teachers. This is due to the fact that parents are the first figures that instil most core ways of thinking and perception. Thus, this leads to a higher chance that these values are taught and practised by children at an early age, whereas the introduction, later on, might not be accepted. Furthermore, awareness can be taught as soon as possible, resulting in the presence of environmental consciousness early on. For example, the University of Minsk conducted research in 2008 amongst local kindergartens which suggested that children taught recycling and similar subjects at home were twice as likely to properly dispose of waste as well as 83% of children admitting to partaking in proper household waste disposal. To conclude, while educational systems should appropriately be equipped to introduce programs on such subjects, I agree with the idea that it is important to introduce these topics at home first, to ensure correctly instilled values.