There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

The development of society follows the subsequent preference for a smaller family size than a larger one. There are several benefits, of both financial and psychological basis, of such occurrences, although the same reasons are why it could be faulty. This essay will review both the benefits and adversaries. On one hand, a smaller number of family members usually means there is an abundance of resources and attention. Small families that earn an average or above average annual income are not required to deal with the dilemma of carefully planning and organizing resources, such as food or money. Subsequently, individuals can afford a greater and more varied number of opportunities, for instance enrolling in higher-quality education. Furthermore, the lesser number of children present enables parental figures to provide adequate attention and monitoring and hence build closer and more understanding relationships. Thus the psychological being is reassured, resulting in higher self-esteem and confidence levels. Conversely, the absence of siblings and distant relatives, such as cousins, could result in the underdevelopment of useful character attributes. Usually, larger families are required to scarcely disperse resources. As a result of this, there is greater pressure on performance among the members, thus enabling harder-working individuals. Alternatively, a lack of such pressure could lead to less ambition and lowered performance. Less peer presence could compromise vital social skills, further leading to the inability to communicate properly, and function as a part of a group. For example, research conducted by the University of Toronto in 2012 in several local kindergartens, assessed that children without siblings were three times less likely to cooperate with fellow peers and guardians as well as appropriately incorporate themselves within group activities. To conclude, as society progresses, the average family decreases. This has both beneficial and detrimental outcomes, in several aspects. Smaller family allows for extended closeness to each other, yet it could impose a distance between an individual and obtain certain aspects of a healthy and productive character. There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?