Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects at university in many countries. Why this is the case? What affects does this have on societies?

The issue of academic education has grown in importance over the past few decades. This is because there is a link between the university‘s majors, professions, and financial status. Unfortunately, in some developing countries, not enough students study science. This essay will discuss the causes and negative effects on societies. To begin with, there are two reasons why students have less tendency to study science in poor countries’ universities. Firstly, the recent economic crisis has affected all parts of these countries, including universities. As science laboratories need costly equipment, university officials may charge science students more to compensate for their low budget. Consequently, many students find these courses unaffordable. Secondly, the modern demanding life,especially in poor societies, encourages students to choose majors with high salaries in the future. Therefore, they tend to choose majors that end up with well-paid jobs after graduation, such as business. Thus, only well-funded students with no concern about their future salaries may choose to study science. Not enough students in science can have two negative effects on such countries. One negative could be an increase in the unemployment rate. In fact, although many students would apply for well-paid jobs, these jobs have limited capacity,and many are left unemployed. Furthermore, a country’s progress may be hindered because many industries rely on science, such as computer science and chemistry. The fewer professionals there are in these fields, the less likely it is for undeveloped countries to progress. As a result, the whole of society may suffer. In conclusion, nowadays, very few students tend to study science as their academic major in poor societies. Increased tuition fees for these subjects without any promising future jobs may contribute to this problem. The increased unemployment rate and the lower likelihood of progress in the country are two negatives, which can exacerbate the situation in undeveloped societies.