Despite health warnings, a large number of people continue to smoke all over the world. What are the prosible reasons for this? Suggest some solutions to address this problem.

It has been observed that a multitude of people are indulged in smoking all around the world, although it is detrimental to our health. A person starts smoking because of many reasons like peer pressure, whilst the most important can be to cope with stress in life. But, this can lead to serious health consequences. I shall try to delve deeper into this discourse and suggest some ideas to alleviate the problem. On the one hand, smoking has become a pernicious habit of many inhabitants of all countries. Competition in every field and impatience amongst individuals have increased working load. A surge in inflation due to multifarious reasons has increased stress in a man's life. To combat such tensions in life, people indulge in smoking. Although it is mentioned on a pack of cigarettes that smoking is injurious to health, still people pay no heed to it. Lung cancer, a fatal disease, is caused because of nicotine present in tobacco cigarettes. To explicate, smoking can damage the alveoli present in the lungs, which provide a surface area for gaseous exchange inside the body, thus eventually affecting the working of the heart. To illustrate it, many cardiologists hold a viewpoint that the most significant thing that one should avoid to keep the heart healthy is to abstain from inhalation of nicotine found in cigarette smoke. Even passive smokers face the adverse effects of it. Namely, a woman whose spouse smokes daily is likely to produce an impaired foetus. On the other hand, the government should take some stringent measures to ban advertisements related to smoking. The concerned department should increase tax duty on smoking. An awareness campaign should be run in the cities to make people fully informed about the inferences of tobacco. De-addiction centres should be opened. The corporate world should adopt some methodologies to promote stress-free work culture so that people do not start this ill practice. For instance, management should allow their employees the choose their workplace which will subsequently result in an increase in efficiency. In a nutshell, it is discernible that smoking has deleterious implications, yet many people smoke daily.