Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Smartphones are here to stay considering that they have halved human effort in more ways than one. They are also a quick window into the world without having to step out of your door, which is one of the main reasons why children are fascinated by them and can spend hours together peering at them. Whereas it is very engaging, this habit can have some detrimental effects, if unchecked. This essay will suggest a supervised rationing of the use of smartphones. Why is a smart calling device so exciting for tiny tots? Firstly, due to it being an Internet receiver, it can become a handheld TV, receiving exciting content built for children via Youtube. Additionally, offline and online games like 'bejewelled' or 'candy crush', which are essentially addicting have turned these gadgets into irresistible magnets for kids. Moreover, parents tend to value these aspects of a smart telephone to engage their little ones, while they accomplish chores or online office work without distractions. These also prove useful distractions enabling caregivers to feed their wards at mealtimes in a stress-free manner. On the whole, these gadgets seem to make life easier for both parents and kids. On the one hand, such a trend is a positive development because it teaches babies some important life skills like learning a language through rhymes or stories. Furthermore, the games on these devices also improve dexterity, while teaching spatial thinking and 'if- then ' thinking. On the other hand, problems like eye strain, sedentariness, lack of social interaction, and lack of skills to manipulate real objects are by-products of said habit. These in turn have long-term harmful effects like obesity, poor eye-hand coordination and social maladjustment. So, while there are important abilities to be had, the uncontrolled use of these intelligent machines might nullify all the benefits. To conclude, smartphones will get smarter and become indispensable over time, with good outcomes for people of all age groups. However, where young ones are concerned, their use should be supervised and rationed so that the physical, mental and social health of little ones is never compromised.