Online courses have been welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, other students see these courses as a poor substitute for classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

Over time, many students have welcomed online courses as a great opportunity to learn whereas some others describe it as a poor substitute for classroom learning. While there are obvious benefits of studying online, it also has some glaring disadvantages and this essay will discuss both views extensively. Internet schooling offers learners the privilege of learning at a time which is most convenient for them especially working class adults who have a hard time striking a healthy balance between work and study as online self learning channels are open to its subscribers without time restrictions. Another point of interest in taking up online courses is that students have access to variety of views from divers tutors and enjoy the privilege of sampling a wide range of opinions on a particular subject thereby broadening their study scope. On the other hand however, majority of courses on the internet space are not well structured when measured by the standards set by most governing authorities in different fields of study; unlike the systematic delivery of work schemes which characterizes classroom learning in an organized setting: this narrative will most likely not change as there are no taskforce available to enforce quality service delivery on the online space. It is also a big challenge to have an effective stdents' performance appraisal online because tests conducted on the internet space are not done under strict supervision hence there is a high possibility of students violating examination rules in order to excel. In conclusion,online courses have obvious advantages as well as disadvantages but the decision to learn online is made by individuals based on what their priorities are.