People have better access to education, but many adults cannot read and write. In what ways are they disadvantaged without these skills? What can governments do to solve this problem?

The past 30 years have witnessed the popularity of higher education. However, there are still a great number of people who are illiterate. This essay will discuss the problems unschooled adults have and relevant measures that governments can take to reduce the adult illiteracy rate. There are two primary difficulties that unschooled adults will encounter. The chief problem is that they are unlikely to find a well-paid job. Nowadays, many companies that can offer desirable pay packages are looking for employees who have decent academic qualifications, like a bachelor degree, a college diploma or certain training certificates. Considering this, adults who are unable to read and write will inevitably end up with low-paid jobs, such as doing the cleaning or doing heavy manual labour. Another problem is that it is hard for uneducated adults to start a happy family. To be more specific, if an adult is incapable of reading and writing, he or she will have the difficulty in effectively communicating with others both in the written and oral form. This leads to many problems when he or she is trying to maintain a long-lasting relationship. For example, there are researches showing that people who are unlettered are incompetent to dealing with intimate relationship and many of them tend to divorce several times. In a bid to eliminate the adult illiterates, there are some effective solutions that governments can take. One possible solution is to give economic support to poor families. The root cause of the high adult illiteracy rate is that many families are financially unable to send their children to receive proper education. Many of those impoverished families are still struggling with basic survival needs, so that parents have to ask their children to work as early as possible rather than go to school. When these children grow up, they become illiterate. According to this, if more financial revenue were spent on subsidizing destitute families, more people would have the opportunity to attend school. For example, if governments provided students who are from low-income households with more student loan programs and more scholarships, more adults would be well-educated in the future. In conclusion, people who are unable to read and write have problems in finding well-paid job and maintain long-lasting intimate relationships, and governments should give financial support to low-income families to decrease the adult illiteracy rate.