These days more people are choosing to live alone than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the latest social changes, the number of single-person households has increased dramatically, especially in urban areas in industrialised countries. In my view, this trend produces beneficial and detrimental outcomes in equal measure. Seen in a positive light, living alone promotes career growth. When individuals live without their family members or roommates, they can focus on job responsibilities, thus achieving optimal productivity and getting promotions. People who do not live on their own tend to grapple with relationship problems and prioritise their parental duties over professional objectives-which subsequently impair their performance at work. Elon Musk is a good case in point. Before reaching a peak of the Billionaires’ list, he used to rent an apartment for himself to concentrate on his business activities, which turned out to be the beginning of his impressive accomplishments ultimately. Some drawbacks are equally worth mentioning. A glaring disadvantage of living alone in contrast to becoming in the company of our loved ones is that it tends to harm mental health. Having decided to lead a solo lifestyle, people miss out on essential bonding with their families. In the absence of outside sources of emotional support, one finds it difficult to overcome different challenges, such as illness or redundancy. As a result, negative feelings of loneliness, isolation, and depression can ensue. Therefore, people, in particular teenagers who are more prone to mental disorders, should take these potential problems into account before leaving their traditional family units. In conclusion, it seems to me that the tendency towards living alone stimulates people’s professional development at the expense of their psychological health.